CS401: Week ending 2/9/13

For this week, we were divided into groups to focus on certain features of the app. The group I chose to join is to build the frameworks to display the content (i.e. information about the art). I’ve thought of an idea of what these frameworks should look like and how it should work, while keeping in mind what our client wants. But, because of my lack of experience in web development, I was not sure whether my idea would actually be doable with html/css & javascript. Then, after talking with Joe of the same group, who has a lot of experience in web development, he said that these things are possible with jQuery.

As far as my learning goes, I’ve gotten through a lot of tutorials this week. I have finished the HTML one and the CSS one, and now I’m starting the javascript and finally I will get to jQuery. Right now I can basically just make a webpage looks nice, without any interactive features. But I’m starting to see how some of the things that I’ve learned so far could be used in building our project. I know I have a lot of catching up to do to be able to actually work on this project with my teammate. So in the mean time, I hope to be able to contribute in a different ways other than coding.

On a side note, there will be a (free) “mini-course” held at UMass Lowell on HTML5 Graphics with Canvas, tomorrow 2/11 at 3pm (sorry for the late notice, I just got the email too). Since we don’t have class tomorrow, if anyone is interested here is the link, http://umlacm.org/content/minicourse-html5-graphics

Leave a Reply

